CTHB / TPCP STAFF AND STUDENTS CONTINUE TO SHINE

The CTHB / TPCP academic staff and post graduate students continue to achieve both academically and professionally and have already set the bar high at the start of 2015.

Prof Brenda Wingfield was awarded the prestigious Christiaan Hendrik Persoon Medal for her outstanding contributions to Plant Pathology during the awards ceremony at the 49th biennial congress of the Southern African Society for Plant Pathology (SASPP). This gold medal is the highest award that the SASPP can make to one of its members. This is only the sixth time that the award has been made in 53 years and Brenda Wingfield is the first female member of the SASPP to receive this honour. Subsequent recipients include Prof. W.F.O. Marasas (1987), Prof. Mike Wingfield (1999) and Prof. P.W. Crous (2005).



Prof Brenda Wingfield holding her medal

In receiving the Persoon Medal, Prof Brenda Wingfield is recognised as a plant pathologist of substantial international standing, having been an active member of the SASPP (an affiliate of the International Society for Plant Pathology) for two decades. Importantly, in this time she contributed substantially to plant pathology in South Africa and also globally. Perhaps the clearest view of these contributions are seen via the fact that she has been a supervisor of some of South Africa's most active and best recognised scientists working with plant pathogens, and numerous of these, including a past President of the SASPP, are now working in countries beyond the borders of South Africa.



TPCP PhD student Osmond Mlonyeni was chosen as a 2015 Lindau Fellow to attend the 65th Lindau Meeting in Germany in June 2015. Osmond will be joined by 650 other fellows from around the world, as well as 70 Nobel laureates. In addition, he has been selected in a smaller group of fellows who will receive financial support for the meeting from the Bosch Foundation. We congratulate Osmond on this major achievement and wish him

all the best among this select group of international scientists!

We would like to congratulate the CTHB students that graduated in 2014 with 14 MSc and nine PhD students being capped. We would like to recognise our MSc students Jonathan Botha, Jane Bredenkamp, Marike du Plessis, Arista Fourie, Miekie Haasbroek, Darryl Herron, Sarah Macrae, Mkululi Maphosa, Caryn Oates, Desre Pienard, Anandi Reitmann, Nicole Rudolph, Ariska van der Nest and Amy Wooding along with PhD students Rodrigo Ahumada, Nanette Christie, Nicole Creux, Dawit Degefu, Steven Hussey, Fahimeh Jami, Michael Mbenoun, Eshchar Mizrachi and Divine Shyntum.



From left to right, back row: Mike Wingfield, Ariska van der Nest, Bridget Crampton, Brenda Wingfield, Arista Fourie, Marike du Plessis. Front row: Jolanda Roux, Michael Mbenoun, Amy Wooding, Irene Barnes, Juan Vorster

Prof Mike Wingfield travelled to Vienna to attend his first Board meeting as President of the International Union of Forestry Research Organisations (IUFRO), a post he will hold for the next five years.