CONGRATULATIONS TO FABI STUDENTS AND STAFF FOR ACHIEVEMENTS AND AWARDS DURING THE SECOND HALF OF 2013

Each year FABlans excel in their pursuit of excellence and in finding ways of extending the boundaries. The second half of 2013 is no exception as we have to congratulate many FABlans on awards received.

We congratulate all students at UP and at the other HEIs where CTHB students are supported who graduated in 2013. We mentioned most of them in our nugget prepared for the Board meeting in May. We omitted to mention two of the MSc students at the University of Stellenbosch, Netsai Machingambi and Anathi Magadlela and one MSc student at Wits University, Donovan Tye, who graduated in April 2013. At the graduation ceremonies in September 2013 at the University of Pretoria, six PhD students, Kershney Naidoo, Tuan Duong Anh, Carlos Rodas, Rene Sutherland, Matsepo Taole, and Marelize van Wyk and nine MSc students, Magdeleen du Plessis, Leonard Mashavha, Lindsay van Niekerk, Zander Human, Nokukhanya Nxumalo, Adele Prinsloo, Phia van Coller, Olivier Zablocki, and Baks Mongae graduated. Peter Mthunzi-Moyo, a PhD student at the University of Stellenbosch, will graduate in December 2013. An MSc student at Wits, Stephen Ross Cousins, will graduate in November 2013.

Staff members at FABI and the CTHB have also excelled in 2013. **Dr Marieka Gryzenhout,** a Core Team Member of the CTHB at the University of the Free State, is the winner of the distinguished young women in the life sciences category of the DST Women in Science Awards for 2013. Two FABIANS received high honours in August at the Biotech Fundi Awards Ceremony of the Gauteng Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (GDARD). They are **Prof Dave Berger** who won the Biotech Fundi Award for capacity building and **Eshchar (Esh) Mizrachi** who won the Best Student Award. In addition to cash awards, Esh gets an all costs paid trip to attend a Biotech meeting in North America.

Prof Mike Wingfield was elected to serve as the next president of the International Union of Forestry Research Organizations (IUFRO). Mike is the first ever African to be elected to this prestigious position, which has a five year term running from October 2014 to 2019.

The TPCP/CTHB team will strive to maintain this wonderful record of achievements in the year which lies ahead.

