# FABI EXCELLENCE SHINES THROUGH AT UP'S AUTUMN GRADUATIONS

More than 30 postgraduate students affiliated with FABI were awarded their degrees at the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences' Autumn Graduation ceremonies in April. Six FABIans were awarded their doctoral degrees, while 12 received their MSc degrees. Eighteen BSc Hons graduates who completed their research projects at FABI the previous year were also capped. FABI congratulates all the graduates on their remarkable achievements!



Listed below are the graduates with their thesis and dissertation titles:

# PhD's

# Dr Tanay Bose

Phytophthora species diversity associated with native and non-native forests in South Africa.

Supervisor: Prof. MJ Wingfield

Co-supervisors: Prof. J Roux, Prof. TI Burgess (Murdoch University, Australia)

# Dr Madgeleen Cilliers

Drought stress-induced changes in the soybean nodule transcriptome

Supervisor: Dr Juan Vorster

Co-supervisor: Dr PDR van Heerden

Dr Felix Fru

Population genetics and ecology of *Fusarium circinatum* on *Pinus* species in eastern South Africa.

Supervisor: Prof. J Roux

Co-supervisors: Prof. ET Steenkamp; Prof. MJ Wingfield

Dr Tinyiko Mokoena

Expression and Purification of an efficacious recombinant Pulpy Kidney subunit vaccine made in *N. benthamiana*.

Supervisor: Dr RK Chikwamba (Council for Scientific and Industrial Research)

Co-supervisors: Dr E Chakauya (Council for Scientific and Industrial Research), Dr MC Crampton (Council for Scientific and Industrial Research), Dr TL Tsekoa (Council for Scientific and Industrial Research)

## Dr Marike Palmer

Genome-based systematics of taxa in the Erwiniaceae.

Supervisor: Prof. SN Venter

Co-supervisors: Prof. ET Steenkamp, Dr MPA Coetzee

Dr Johan van der Linde

Fungi, insects and abiotic factors associated with the death of *Euphorbia ingens* in South Africa.

Supervisor: Prof. J Roux

Co-supervisors: Prof. MJ Wingfield, Prof. DL Six (The University of Montana, USA)





#### MSc's

#### Samantha Bush

Host preference of the invasive *Glycaspis brimblecombei* and host specificity of its parasitoid, *Psyllaephagus bliteus*.

Supervisor: Prof. BP Hurley

Co-supervisor: Prof. B Slippers

Caitlin Botha

The genetics of sexual reproduction in Amylostereum areolatum.

Supervisor: Prof. B Slippers

Co-supervisors: Dr MPA Coetzee, Dr MA van der Nest

#### Edohan Clasen

Horizontal gene transfer in eukaryotes with a special focus on the nematode *Deladenus siricidicola*.

Supervisor: Prof. B Slippers

Co-supervisors: Prof. O Reva, Dr RE Pierneef, Ms Alisa Postma Smidt

Ginna Granados

Studies on Puccinia psidii and Cryphonectriaceae on Myrtales in Colombia.

Supervisor: Prof. MJ Wingfield

Co-supervisors: Prof. J Roux, Dr AR McTaggart

Megan Harris

Characterization of viruses associated with Grapevine Leafroll disease in *Vitis* rootstocks in South Africa.

Supervisor: Prof. G Pietersen

Dorah Mwangola

Population genetics of *Chrysoporthe austroafricana* in Southern Africa.

Supervisor: Dr NA van der Merwe

Co-supervisor: Prof J. Roux

Wilma Nel

Taxonomy and biology of the plant pathogenic fungus Thielaviopsis basicola.

Supervisor: Prof. ZW de Beer

Co-supervisors: Prof. BD Wingfield, Prof. MJ Wingfield, Dr A Duong, Dr A Hammerbacher

### Mashudu<u>N</u>xumalo

Characterization of *Burkholderia* isolates associated with root nodules of *Vachellia karoo* in South Africa.

Supervisor: Prof. SN Venter

Co-supervisor: Prof. ET Steenkamp

Nam Pham

New Calonectria and Cylindrocladiella species from Vietnam, Malaysia and Indonesia.

Supervisor: Prof. MJ Wingfield

Co-supervisors: Dr I Barnes, Dr S Chen

Stefan Priem

Characterisation of the cellulose biosynthesis cluster and its role in *Pectobacterium* adherence to biotic and abiotic surfaces.

Supervisor: Prof. LN Moleleki

Co-supervisor: Prof. TA Coutinho

Kavani Sanasi

Ophiostomatoid fungi associated with pine-infesting bark beetles in Guatemala.

Supervisor: Prof. ZW de Beer

Co-supervisors: Prof. MJ Wingfield, Dr A Duong

**Riaan Swanepoel** 

Optimizing Illumina *de novo* transcriptome assembly for non-model plants.

Supervisor: Dr E Mizrachi

Co-supervisor: Prof. F Joubert

**BSc Honours** 

#### Leandri Bezuidenhout

Marlise Buys

**Ricu Claassens** 

Claudette Dewing

Lomile Khoete

Jesse Hartley

Angelique Jacobsohn

Christoff Joubert

Hye Jin Lim

Mancha Mabaso

Kayleigh Maier

Modjadji Makwela

Fezile Mthunzi

Ashleigh Smith

Nicole Soal

Hannes Strydom

Francois Viljoen