PROF WINGFIELD ELECTED TO ASSAF COUNCIL

From Tukkievaria 2013

The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) has inaugurated its new President and new Council of the Academy for the 2012 to 2016 cycle. The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) is the official national academy of science and represents the country in the international community of science academies. ASSAf is governed by a Council comprising 13 members, of whom 12 are elected from the membership and one is appointed by the Minister as representative of the National Advisory Council on Innovation (NACI). The Academy has five office-bearers: the President, two Vice-Presidents, General-Secretary and Treasurer.

Prof Brenda Wingfield, Deputy Dean in the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, current Chairperson of the National Science and Technology Forum is a council member. Prof Zeblon Vilakazi, an Extraordinary Professor at the University of Pretoria, is Director of iThemba LABS and Group Executive for Research and Development at the South African Nuclear Energy Corporation. He is also a member of the Board of Nuclear Industries Association of South Africa.



Prof Brenda Wingfield