### CONGRATULATIONS TO CTHB / TPCP STUDENTS AND STAFF IN 2011

Each year FABIans excel in their pursuit of excellence and in finding ways of extending the boundaries. This year is no exception as we have to congratulate many FABIans on awards received.

We congratulate all those students who graduated in 2011. Our CTHB/TPCP supported honours graduates included Stefan Bam, Dylan Chapman, Herman de Bruin, Tracy Hall, Cornell Kortenhoeven, Lindiwe Nkosi, Gina Shin, Sarah Stanton, Phia van Coller and Amy Wooding. Of this group, six are pursuing an MSc in FABI. Congratulations go to the MSc graduates; Simon Martin, Ritesh Mewalal, Tania Weller, Bernice Porter, Osmond Mlonyeni, Lisa-Danelle de Wet, and Lorinda Swart. Simon has registered for a PhD at Cambridge University and Ritesh, Tania and Osmond are continuing with a PhD at the University of Pretoria. Congratulations also to our FABI PhD graduates; Wubetu Bihon, Shuaifei Chen, Maria-Noel Cortinas, Pieter de Maayer, Riana Jacobs, Guillermo Perez, Magriet van der Nest and Gilbert Nkuekam. Wubetu, Shuaifei and Pieter all received UP post-doctoral scholarships in 2011 and Magriet has a post-doctoral fellowship in Sweden.

Two MSc students at FABI received prestigious awards. **Mmatshepho Phasha**, received the Mandela Rhodes Scholarship. **Barend Jansen van Vuuren** is one of 5 students in the country (2 from UP) who have just been awarded a TATA bursary. He was also nominated as one of the "Outstanding Achievers of the Faculty" in May 2011 - to quote Prof. Stroh's comment – these students are amongst the "top 5% of the University's brain power".

A large group of FABlans associated with the CTHB / TPCP attended the congress of the Southern African Society of Plant Pathology (SASPP) at the Kruger National Park in January 2011. FABI's presence was felt both in the number of presentations delivered, as well as the quality of the work presented. **Pieter de Maayer** received the award for the best poster and **Elsie Cruywagen** for the best student presentation in the Molecular section. **Professor Jolanda Roux** received the Applied Plant Pathology Award, one of the SASPP's premier awards. **Professors Teresa Coutinho and Jolanda Roux** were named new president and vice president, respectively, of the SASPP for the next term.

Prof. Jolanda Roux received three additional prestigious awards this year: the Queen's Award from the Commonwealth Forestry Association for her work in forestry, the Department of Science and Technology (DST) Award for DISTINGUISHED YOUNG WOMEN SCIENTISTS in the Life, Natural and Engineering Sciences and Honorary Professorship with the Chinese Academy of Forestry (CAF). The Queens Award was established by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II to recognise outstanding contributions to forestry. The purpose of the award is both to recognise achievements and support future work of an outstanding mid-career forester. Jolanda will travel to London later this year to personally receive the award. The DST Award for DISTINGUISHED YOUNG WOMEN SCIENTISTS go to young women scientists and researchers who have made an outstanding contribution to advancing science and building the knowledge base in their respective disciplines. The criteria used for this award include excellence in teaching and research, research and innovation outputs, national and international eminence and supervision and mentorship of students aimed at achieving equity Jolanda's Honorary Professorship with the Chinese Academy of Forestry (CAF) and redress. emerged from the CAF programme known as "international innovative research team". Most of these accomplishments on Jolanda's part are very closely linked to her research supported by the Tree Protection Co-operative Programme and the DST/NRF Centre of Excellence in Tree Health Biotechnology.

**Prof. Bernard Slippers** won the  $S_2A_3$  Silver Medal, an award that recognizes the achievements of scientists in the early part of their careers. In addition, he was awarded the inaugural prestigious AU-Twas (Third World Academy of Sciences) Young Scientist's National Award by the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf). He is one of the 20 founding members of the South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS). The academy was inaugurated by the Minister of Science and Technology, Mrs Naledi Pandor, at the launch of SAYAS on 27 September 2011. He was also nominated as Chairperson of the Global Young Academy established in 2010 in Germay. This organisation is described as "an organisation intended to harness the resources in ways that will fertilize research fields with new ideas and bolster career pathways, as well as invigorate older academies by involving the young scientific community in critical policy-related work". To quote Bruce Alberts, Editor-in-Chief of Science, "the empowerment of national science academies with distinguished, well-established members can leave a gap between these influential organizations and the young, dynamic scientists who represent the future in each nation. This is precisely the gap that

has been filled by the Young Academies; each a group of fewer than 200 scientists, typically selected by their national science academies to serve in 4-year leadership roles."

Prof. Emma Steenkamp received the University of Pretoria's "Exceptional Young Scientist" award.



#### Awards

Mmatshepho Phasha – Prestigious Mandela Rhodes scholarship.



**Prof. Bernard Slippers -** S<sub>2</sub>A<sub>3</sub> Silver Medal, Young Scientist's National Award by the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) and founding member of the South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS). (Left to Right: Prof. Robin Crewe, Bernard Slippers and Minister Naledi Pandor).

# Honours graduates





Top left to right: Dylan Chapman, Cornell Kortenhoeven and Tracy Hall. Bottom left to right: Amy Wooding and Phia van Coller

## M.Sc. graduates



Top left to right: Tania Weller, Simon Martin and Lisa-Danielle de Wet. Bottom Left to right: Osmond Mlonyeni and Bernice Porter.

### Ph.D. Graduates



Top left to right: Guillermo Perez and Magriet van der Nest. Middle left to right: Maria-Noel Cortinas, Pieter de Maayer and Riana Jacobs. Bottom left to right: Shuaifei Chen, Wubetu Bihon and Gilber Kamgan.