HONOURS FOR FABIANS

AND ALSO FOR THE CTHB

We are proud of the many FABIans who have received national and international awards this year. Not all are directly affiliated to the DST/NRF Centre of Excellence in Tree Health Biotechnology (CTHB) but nevertheless their achievements are celebrated by the CoE.

23rd World Congress of IUFRO (International Union of Forestry Research Organizations)

This congress was held in Seoul, Korea in August 2010. Seven FABlans were able to attend the meeting and made a significant impact on the Congress by presenting posters, numerous talks and chairing scientific sessions. In addition FABlans also received awards. *Marieka Gryzenhout* received the IUFRO Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award for the best Ph.D. dissertation in a forestry related subject in Division 7, which deals with Forest Health. This is a wonderful achievement and the top award for young scientists given by the organization. *Prof Jolanda Roux*, a core team member of the CTHB, was elected the Co-ordinator of IUFRO Division 7.2 and, as such, she also becomes a member of the extended Board of IUFRO – a great honour and a substantial challenge. *Prof Mike Wingfield*, who has been involved in IUFRO activities and has held many offices in IUFRO for more than 30 years, and was on the scientific committee for the Congress, was elected as one of the two Vice Presidents of IUFRO. This is a truly great achievement in an organization which includes many leaders of forestry in the world.







Jolanda Roux



Mike Wingfield

S2A3 Silver Medal



More great news is that **Prof Bernard Slippers**, also a core team member of the CTHB, has won the S2A3 Silver Medal – an award for scientists in the early part of their career.

Mandela/Rhodes fellowship



Mmatshepho Pasha has been named as one of the recipients of the Mandela/Rhodes fellowship. This is one of the greatest honours that a South African student can receive and she joins two other FABlans, Osmond Mlonyeni and Steven Hussey, as three of only four students at the University of Pretoria to have received this award. Both Mmatshepho and Osmond are members of the research team of the CTHB.

SAGS (South African Genetics Society) 2010

This meeting was held in Bloemfontein from 8-10 April and we are very proud of our four FABI students who won awards. **Simon Martin** won an award for the best MSc oral presentation; **Janine Silberbaue**r for the best poster presentation; **Nicky Creux** for the best PhD oral presentation; and **Ritesh Mewalal** received an honourable mention for his poster presentation.



Simon Martin



Janine Silberbauer



Nicky Creux



Ritesh Mewalal

Finalist for a THRIP award

And a near miss! The Tree Protection team at FABI that is very closely linked to the CTHB was named as a finalist for the THRIP award for capacity building. The team did not take the award home, but should feel satisfied at having won this very significant award in the past.

Congratulations to Simon, Janine, Nicky, Ritesh, Marieka, Mmatshepho, Jolanda, Bernard and Mike!! We are proud of you all, and thank you for keeping FABI and South Africa's name high amongst both the South African and international community.